I’m happy to relate that puns about stacks & state have become out of date.

More of QL, courtesy of MediaFire, with the MLPTK framework included as usual:

https://www.mediafire.com/?xaqp7cq9ziqjkdz (http://www.mediafire.com/download/xaqp7cq9ziqjkdz/mlptk-operafix-21mar2016.zip)

I have, at last, made time to fix the input bug in Opera!
I'm sorry for the delay and inconvenience. I didn't think it'd be that tricky.

I fixed an infinite loop bug in "rep" (where I didn't notice that someone might
type in a syntax error, because I didn't have a syntax error in my test cases),
and added to the bibliography the names of all my teachers that I could recall.
I added a quip to the bootstrap sequence. More frills.

My work on QL has been painfully slow, due to pain, but it'll all be over soon.
I see zero fatal flaws in ::hattenArDin. I guess debugging'll be about a month,
and then it's back to the Command Line Interpretation Translator. Sorry for the
delay, but I have to rewrite it right before I can right the written writing.
The improved QL (and, hopefully, the CLIT) is my goal for second quarter, 2016.
After those, I'll take one of two options: either a windowing operating system
for EmotoSys or overhaul of QL. Naturally, I favor the prior, but I must first
review QL to see if the API needs to change again. (Doubtful.)

MLPTK, and QL, are free of charge within the Public Domain.

Last time I said I needed to make the input stream object simpler so that it can
behave like a buffer rather than a memory hog. I have achieved this by returning
to my original design for the input stream. Although that design is ironically
less memory-efficient in action than the virtual file allocation table, it leans
upon the Javascript interpreter's garbage collector so that I mustn't spend as
much time managing the fragmented free space. (That would've been more tedious
than I should afford at this point in the software design, which still awaits an
overhaul to improve its efficiency and concision of code.) And, like I thought,
it'll be too strenuous for me to obviate the precedence heuristic by generating
static code. In fact: unless tokens are identified by enumeration, dropping that
heuristic actually reduces efficiency, because string comparisons; also, I was
wrong about the additional states needed to obviate it: there're none, but a new
"switch" statement (these, like "if" and "while," are heuristics) is needed, and
it's still slower (even best-case) than "if"ing the precedence integer per node.

Here's an illustration of the "old" input stream object (whither I now return):

	 _________________________________
	| ISNode: inherits from Array     | -> [ ISNode in thread 0 ]
	|    ::value = data (i.e., token) |
	|    ::[N] = next node (thread N) | -> [ ISNode in thread 1 ]
	|    (Methods...)                 |
	|    (State....)                  | -> [ etc ... ]
	-----------------------------------

As you see, each token on input is represented by a node in a linked list.
Each node requires memory to store the token, plus the list's state & methods.
Nodes in the istream link forward. I wanted to add back-links, but nightmare.
For further illustration, see my foregoing briefs.

Technically the input stream can be processed in mid-parse by using the "thread"
metaphor (see "Stacking states on dated stacks"); however, by the time you need
a parser that complex, you are probably trying to work a problem that requires a
nested Turing machine instead of using only one. Don't let my software design
lure you into the Turing tar-pit: before using the non-Bison-like parts, check &
see if you can accomplish your goal by doing something similar to what you'd do
in Yacc or Bison. (At least then your grammar & algorithm may be portable.)
QL uses only thread zero by default... I hope.

GNU Bison is among the tools available from the Free Software Foundation.
Oh, yeah, and Unix was made by Bell Laboratories, not Sun Microsystems. (Oops.)

Here's an illustration of the "new" input stream object (whence I departed):

	Vector table 0: file of length 2. Contents: "HI".
		       (table index in first column, data position in second column)
		0 -> 0 (first datum in vector 0 is at data position 0)
		1 -> 1 (second datum, vector 0, is at data position 1)
	Vector table 1: file of length 3. Contents: "AYE".
		0 -> 3
		1 -> 4
		2 -> 7
	Vector table 2: file of length 3. Contents: "H2O".
		0 -> 0
		1 -> 5
		2 -> 10
	Vector table 3: file of length 6. Contents: "HOHOHO".
		0 -> 0
		1 -> 10
		2 -> 0
		3 -> 10
		4 -> 0
		5 -> 10
	Data table: (data position: first row, token: second row)
		0     1     2     3     4     5     6     7     8     9    10
		H     I     W     A     Y     2     H     E     L     L    O

In that depreciated scheme, tokens were stored in a virtual file.
The file was partitioned by a route vector table, similar to vectabs everywhere.
Nodes required negligible additional memory, but fragmentation was troublesome.
Observe that, if data repeats itself, the data table need not increase in size:
lossless data compression, like a zip file or PNG image, operates with a similar
principle whereby sequences of numbers that repeat themselves are squeezed into
smaller sequences by creating a table of sequences that repeat themselves. GIF89
employs run-length encoding, which is a similar algorithm.

There is again some space remaining, and not much left to say about the update.
I'll spend a few paragraphs to walk you through how Quadrare Lexema parses.

QL is based upon a simple theory (actually, axiom) of how to make sense of data:
    1. Shift a token from input onto lookahead; the former LA becomes active.
    2. If the lookahead's operator precedence is higher, block the sequence.
    3. If the active token proceeds in sequence, shift it onto the sequence.
    4. Otherwise, if the sequence reduces, pop it and unshift the reduction.
    5. Otherwise, block the sequence and wait for the expected token to reduce.
And, indeed: when writing a parser in a high-level language such as Javascript,
everything really is exactly that simple. The thousands lines of code are merely
a deceptive veil of illusion, hiding the truth from your third eye.

Whaddayamean, "you don't got a third eye"?

QL doesn't itself do the tokenization. I wrote a separate scanner for that. It's
trivial to accomplish. Essentially the scanner reads a string of text to find a
portion that starts at the beginning of the string and matches a pattern (like a
regular expression, which can be done with my ReGhexp library, but I used native
Javascript reg exps to save time & memory and make the code less nonstandard);
then the longest matching pattern (or, if tied, the first or last or poka-dotted
one: whichever suits your fancy) is chopped off the beginning of the string and
stored in a token object who contains an identifier and a semantic value. Value
of a token is computed by the scanner in similar fashion as parser's reductions.
The scanner doesn't need to do any semantic analysis, but some is OK in HLLs.

Now that your input has ascended from the scanning chakra, let's manifest
another technical modal analysis. I wrote all my code while facing the upstream
direction of a flowing river, sitting under a waterfall, and meditating on the
prismatic refraction of a magical crystal when exposed to a candle dipped at the
eostre of the dawn on the vernal solstice -- which caused a population explosion
among the nearby forest rabbits, enraged a Zen monk who had reserved a parking
space, divested a Wiccan coven, & reanimated the zombie spirits of my ancestors;
although did not result in an appreciable decrease in algorithmic complexity --
but, holy cow, thou may of course ruminate your datum howsoever pleases thee.

The parser begins with one extremum, situated at the root node. The root is that
node whence every possible complete sequence begins; IOW, it's a sentry value.
Thence, symbols are read from input as described above. The parse stack -- that
is, the extrema -- builds on itself, branching anywhen more than one reduction
results from a complete sequence. As soon as a symbol can't go on the stack: if
the sequence is complete, the stack is popped to gather the symbols comprising
the completed sequence; that occurs by traversing the stack backward til arrival
at the root node, which is also popped. (I say "pop()" although, as written, the
stack doesn't implement proper pushing and popping. Actually, it isn't even a
stack: it's a LIFO queue. Yes, yes: I know queues are FIFO; but I could not FIFO
the FIFO because the parser doesn't know where the sequence began until it walks
backwards through the LIFO. So now it's a queue and a stack at the same time;
which incited such anger in the national programming community that California
seceded from the union and floated across the Pacific to hang out with Nippon,
prompting Donald Trump to reconsider his business model. WTF, m8?) Afterward,
the symbols (now rearranged in the proper, forward, order) are trundled along to
the reduction constructor, which is an object class I generated with GenProtoTok
(a function that assembles heritable classes). That constructor makes an object
which represents _a reduction that's about to occur;_ id est: a deferment, which
contains the symbols that await computation. The deferment is sent to the parse
stack (in the implementation via ::toTheLimit) or the input stream (::hatten);
when only one differential parse branch remains, computation is executed and the
deferred reduction becomes a reduction proper. Sequences compound as described.
One thought on “I’m happy to relate that puns about stacks & state have become out of date.

  1. invalidpducontent Post author

    I missed some of my high school teachers’ names in this bibliographical update, but I’ll add two before I return home tonight: Barry Carr (literature), Alice Wilcox (art). I still can’t remember the name of our high school geometry teacher… he coached the boys’ basketball team. Oh, yeah: Mr. Lovell. I’m sorry I left y’all out of my bibliography. I’ll fill-in that grievous omission by the time I publish the next exciting issue of my software. (Can you believe that 400 pages could, hypothetically, go all over the world in seconds? Well, whether or not you do, I still don’t believe it’s not butter.)

    Like

    Reply

Be careful what you say. The U.S.A. is not as free a country as you have been led to believe.

